Steppingstone is defined by our innovative, entrepreneurial, and talented team. We’re not afraid to pursue great ideas, take risks, work differently, and implement real – and necessary – change. Simply put, the Steppingstone team is committed to making things happen and getting things done.

Executive Staff

Sean Vereen

Sean Vereen

President, Ed.D
Chris Avery

Chris Avery

Vice President of Programs
Chanell Bates

Chanell Bates

Chief Talent Officer
Paige LeGrand

Paige LeGrand

Vice President of Development and Communications
Tu-Quyen Nguyen

Tu-Quyen Nguyen

Chief Operating Officer


Maya Allen

Coordinator, College and Workforce (Dobbins)

Stephanie Andell

Senior Director, College Access and Equity

Sonnia Brown

Coordinator, Academy Placement and Admissions

Chris Bulman

Coordinator, Middle Grades Academy (Bethune and Duckery)

Hannah Clements

Senior Director, MGA and High School OST

Annie-Rose Devaney

Student Support Coordinator

Robin Eli

Associate Director, Middle School OST

Evy Fraga

Director, Dual Enrollment

Kate Gormley

Associate Director, Workforce & Social Services

Brittany Grabois

Associate Director, High School and Out-of-School Time

Jeremy Heyman

Associate Director, STEM Training & Ventures

Mimi Copp Johnson

Grants Coordinator, Development & Assistant to the President

Crystal Jones

Associate Director, Academy High School and College Readiness

Julia Levin

Associate Director, Talent and Retention

Amanda Maisonave

Associate Director, College Access and Equity (Carver)

Katie McMillan

Bookkeeper/Accounting Coordinator

Amanda Mouser

Associate Director, College and Workforce Pathways

Kia Nwadiora

College Access and Equity Coordinator FLC & Bodine High School

Alexis Pugh

Senior Director, Workforce and Ventures

Jen Raffo

Development Assistant

Marissa Robinson

Associate Director, College Access and Equity (Masterman)

Melissa Rowe

Associate Director, Upward Bound

Nora Shaughnessy

Assistant, Development and Communications

Kelly Smemo

Coordinator, College Access and Equity (Girls High and GAMP)

Nicole Thuestad

Associate Director, Data and Compliance

Joseph Valentine

College Access and Equity Coordinator Constitution & Lankenau High School

Bridget Warlea

Academy Alumni Coordinator

LaToya Winkfield

Director, Upward Bound/Upward Bound
Math and Science

Board of Directors

Gregory Anderson

Dean, Temple University College of Education

Reggie Browne

Principal, GTS Securities

Julia A. Conover

Immediate Past Chair Attorney

Erinn Corbett-Wright

Vice President, TD Bank USA

Gary A. Deutsch

Treasurer Managing Chief Counsel, PNC Bank

Anthony E. (Tony) Gay

Vice President & General Counsel, PECO Energy

Hon. Jane C. Greenspan (Ret.)

Arbitrator and Mediator, JAMS,
The Resolution Experts

Matthew Hand

Managing Director and Equity Research Analyst, Wellington Management

Deborah J.R. Hirtle

Chair Advisor, Hirtle, Callaghan & Co.

Chaz Howard

University Chaplain and University Vice President of Social Equity and Community, University of Pennsylvania

Chandra A. Kee, MD

Senior Medical Director, Aetna,
a CVS Health Company

Margot Lebovitz


Grace Limaye

Science Department Chair, Episcopal Academy

Michael J. Ross

Co-Founder & CEO, Maine Crisp Company

Lauren Sullivan

Professional Counselor, Phoenix Center for Experiential Trauma Therapy

Sean Vereen, Ed.D

President, Steppingstone Scholars

Emeritus Board of Directors

Gretchen Burke

Past Chair Volunteer

Darryl Ford

Head of School, William Penn Charter School

Wanda Paul


Constance H. Williams